ICOS-20, 20th International Conference on Organic Synthesis
Friday, 20 October 2017
Entry Visa


ICOS-20 is an IUPAC-sponsored conference. IUPAC sponsorship implies that entry visas will be granted to all bona fide chemists provided visa application is filed not less than three months in advance. If a visa is not granted two month before the meeting, the IUPAC Secretariat should be notified without delay by the applicant.

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 19 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits  issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December 19th  2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 27 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 5 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

Entry visas are not required for citizens the countries of Schengen Area, USA and Canada. Citizens of other countries can obtain a visa at the Hungarian Embassy or Consulate in theirs country. A valid passport is required.

For more information about visas, please check the website of the Hungarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs:



Registered participants who need a Letter of Invitation to apply for visa or funding, are requested to contact  the Conference Service at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it